Goodbye Jesus

Ex-Mennonite

Ichabod

Hello,

Newbie here. I found this site surfing around looking for support for Ex-Mennonites. Couldn't find any.

I was born into a closed Mennonite Community in PA. My journey away from the Mennonite Church began with my birth I think. I always thought Mennonitism was a crock, even though I wore the clothes and briefly in my teens took the Church Communion, which for those of you not familiar with Mennonitism means I not only said the prayer, but shunned the world, met all the requirements, etc. Mennonites do not practice open communion, if you take communion that means you are on the inside, a member. The Mennonite comunion has little to do with the blood and body of Christ and everything to do with church discipline.

My life has been hell. I realize that in a world where people are hungry and living without shelter that that is a bold and incredibly narcisitic thing to say. My life has been hell psychologically would probably be more correct. But if I said it was all psychological I would be lieing. When I was almost a teen my Father beat me with his hand till I was black and blue from the middle of my back down to the back of my knees for not properly cowtowing to the "teacher"(barely out of her teens herself) at the community church school I was sent to. And that was only one of many beatings. I grew up around violent discipline. Some of my earliest memories of my father involve violence. If I wasn't getting a beating I was seeing my siblings getting beat, which was also damaging to the siblings seeing it take place.