Goodbye Jesus

Serious Family Issues

BabyZeus

Ok, this is my first time posting on this board. I've been lurking for a while but I feel like I need to vent right now, and any advice would be appreciated. Let me start by saying I am a fully de-converted Christian, and have been fully deconverted for two years now. It has been a long and painful process, but I am finally very comfortable with my beliefs and every changing view point.

I'm a P.K. and grew up spending most of my time in a charismatic church in South Carolina. My childhood bares a strikingly close resemblance to "Jesus Camp". I was brainwashed from the get-go, my parents being about as fundamentalist as you can get. I got the whole works, and didn't have a shot in hell (no pun intended) of believing anything other than what I was told all my life. They went so far as to home-school me so I wouldn't be warped by the public education system. Fast forward to high-school, I pretty much give up the pentecostal lifestyle, and start going to the baptist church which my christian school was a part of.

In college, I started drinking and smoking weed, listening to cool music. I met really good friends who weren't christians, and first the first time in my life found out non christians were way more fun to be around than christian people.

Through a process of research and hard thinking, I slowly began to deconvert over the next two years. I stopped going to church, and spent hours and hours reading about the origins of the bible, mythology, and philosophy.