Goodbye Jesus

Old Testament was "To be continued????"

seeker

I'm just getting into researching this but something occured to me while reading a thread here today. Was the Torah (the old testament is the Torah right??) expected to have "Volume 2" or was it supposed to be the end all holy books, one and only??? Did the original hebrews expect a new book to supercede the Old testament?

It just seems odd that Christians/Catholics agree that their beliefs stemmed from the Torah yet now think they can pick and choose whats good or bad from it....since it was supposed to be "Gods word" like the New testament is.

Hopefully someone can shed some light on this for me.

That's a very interesting point!

According to the Jews it was complete with the Torah.

And according to the Christians it was supposed to be continued with new revelations from God.

And further, the Muslims consider Mohammed to have the last word.

Then we have the Jehovas Witness and Mormons that want their books to be the continuation of the OT and NT.

Is it time we have another revelation from God that will supercede the old books?

Yes, and here it is:

Thus sayeth the Lord:  "Remember all those old books and stuff?  I was just kidding.  Never mind."

See my sig-line. :grin:

Actually the torah only consists of the 5 books of Moses, other books are the writings, and prophets. Nothing in these writings can undo what the torah states. The torah (meaning Law) is to endure forever, not one letter of the law is to ever change. It contains all 613 Mitzvah (commandments) Given by God to the jews. Hence why in Dut it say's.. any man claming miracles who say come lets worship another god is a test.

More interesting info for ya..