Goodbye Jesus

Does The Old Testament, Prove The New Testament.

Guest Valk0010

Guest Valk0010

I have been talking to in the chatroom, which a lady by the name of onequestion. Her best arguement for the validity of christianity is that all the OT proves the NT, and predicts the NT. I am not a expert in either really. But I am curious on other peoples views on it. And with that lack of expertise, comes reason enough for me, to make a thread about such things.

I have a problem with this argument(using the bible to prove the bible and prophecy) I won't bore you with the obvious.

For one, it defys logic to say, that the ot predicts the nt, because beliefs build forward, not backwards, You start with god, and come up with divine revelation, as a example. Abraham and isaac couldn't have started as foreshadowing of jesus, if the writers didn't even know who jesus was, or that there was going to be a son of god, or a messiah. We have no reason to believe that god, revealed that yet to abraham or isaac.

It reads into the OT what could just as possibly not be there. A couple of different times in our discussion she brought up how, god resting on the seventh day in creation is like god resting now after jesus. What is he resting from as well.

My problem with that is, that it assumes the NT is accurate, and that jewish theology wants a messiah like jesus. A quick look through of jewish theology today proves a decent argument against Jesus being the messiah.

She brought up how, of course the jews wouldn't get it, that is prophecy fulfillment as well. Of course that assumes christianity was correct. And also, forsakes the possibility of whoever having the most rational argument.

In general, I stay away from prophecy and foreshadowing as a argument, because it subjectivity. You can make a text mean whatever you want, look at how Christians do that with the NT.