Goodbye Jesus

The Ham

Foxy Methoxy

I worked as a porter in the Food and Nutrition Services department at St. Vincent’s Medical Center in my late teenage years. I didn’t enjoy the job or the people, but it paid $5.88/hr which was a couple dollars per hour more than I’d been making at Taco Bell, so I stuck with it. I felt out of place being the only white kid, the only teenager, and the only kid from the suburbs of Orange Park. My co-workers constantly accused the manager of giving me preferential treatment and I routinely mocked my co-workers for having the collective IQ of a pair of dice. It was true, however. I was lazy and had a rotten attitude. And I inexplicably got away with many things I shouldn’t have. Most of the people there were working in dietary as a career, but I saw myself destined for greater things. I didn’t mop the floors, empty the dumpsters, clean the pots and pans, or sanitize the food carts with the same enthusiasm the others had. The only thing I rushed to do was sneak out for cigarette breaks (back in those days, everyone who worked at the hospital smoked). I had a somewhat antagonistic friendship with a guy named Todd for laughing when he said he was going to start a church and become its pastor. The image of Todd addressing a congregation was hilarious to me. Who was going to sit through one of his sermons? He was very difficult to understand. Todd had a bad stuttering problem as well as speech impediment. He was a very loud talker and would proclaim God’s greatness everywhere he went, but I was his favorite target.

He’d walk up to me and say “Be-in, da lawd ha-had-ha-had domething dreat in mind-uh fuh yuh doday. You dust hab do listen ah-ah-ah-and drust in Dawd.”

“Dawd?”

“Don’t buh-buh-buh mock me, Be-in.”

“I just want to know who Dawd is. Tell me about Dawd. Does Dawd love me? Will Dawd deliver me from evil? Did Dawd create me in his image?”