Goodbye Jesus

Why Does Everyone Blame My Every Sniffle On Leaving God?

Freedom from Guilt

I've struggled with depression for most of my adult life. Before my deconversion, the "help" and encouragement I received from others was either that I have a chemical imbalance OR I just need more of Jesus/to be more surrendered, etc. Mostly though, it's been about the chemical imbalance. NOW that I've deconverted, I feel like everyone is hanging all issues, anger, depression on my lost relationship with God. I can hardly talk to my old friends because I *know* they are thinking my current problems stem from my loss of faith. As you may know from my posts, my marriage is falling apart and that's also "my fault" because of my deconversion. If I have a down day, I get the feeling that my friends are really worried about me. Everyone wants to pin it all on leaving Jesus. Even my daughter seems to be doing it. I feel like if my husband and I do divorce, it will be my fault in everyone's eyes, including hers. I'm trying to come to terms with that but it's hard.

It just sucks that I have all the same issues that I've always had. Before they were excused, prayed for, or explained but now, every problem that I have is because I don't love God anymore. It get's really old. I have genuine reasons for being depressed and angry (and I'm in therapy to deal with them). It kinda feels like I have to be fake for everyone so they will just stop trying to pick my life apart to show me why I need to come back to god.

I guess it's human nature to pin problems on the thing that you don't like/understand. My grandmother never liked it that I breastfed/extended breastfed and she blamed any issue/problem my babies had on that.