Goodbye Jesus

A Bit Befuddled

Dillon

I haven't exactly posted much on this site for a while, but I have been a member for a short while and a faithful reader for even longer. With that knowledge, I'm sure me not being a Christian comes as no surprise. However, at my school ( a Christian Private School, where I am a senior and have gone there all my life ) I'm struggling a bit with something. I planned on keeping my non-christian ways ( my 'heathen' ways :P ) a secret until I graduated and moved out, so I would not have to deal with the School Administration's watchful eyes and my Mother and Grandmother's grief. Sadly though, I and my ex-girlfriend broke up because I admitted I was an agnostic ( and some other issues, of course ), and afterward many rumors went around about me "Trying other religions" and "being an atheist". This all happened last year and barely phased me. In fact, I laughed at the rumors. One year later, I'm preparing for a vocal competition which is referred to as "All-State" ( some sort of AVA/AISA thing that takes place in Birmingham, Alabama every year), and I'm auditioning for Outstanding Choral Student which would provide me with a musical scholarship, should I win. Well, apparently these rumors have come back to bite me. At the very end of Summer, a friend who has voice lessons with my choir director told me that she had heard the rumors and that she "Would no longer help" me because of it. Of course I was shattered and very angry upon hearing it, because this could be a definite shot at getting a scholarship. I couldn't help but feel...persecuted and discriminated against, almost. Because of that, I confronted my choir director after school yesterday and ended up having to lie to her about being a Christian because, apparently, when we students go off to All-State, we "represent our school" and she can't have a nonbeliever trying out for a solo thing like that if they're going to represent the school. I feel so bad for having to lie, bec