Goodbye Jesus

What To Do With The Fear

RunawayBride

I feel like a kid on my first day of school.

Hi Everyone...this is my first post here and I'm a little nervous to finally admit it: I'm NOT a Christian.

Hm. That felt good. I'll say it again: I'm NOT a Christian.

I was "saved" at 14, went to a private Christian college with very fundamentalist/charismatic views, studied Theology and planned, for a while, to become a missionary. However the longer I studied the Bible, I realized it made NO SENSE and I felt more and more uncomfortable reading it. And quoting it. And praying it. My TRUE deconstruction started with prayer, though. I brought my concerns to God and then backed away, telling God he would have to fix it. He'd have to speak to me. Do something...ANYTHING...to let me know He was there. And I got silence.

Silence.

Not only silence, but peace. The moment I said "I'm finished" and put my Bible on the shelf, and didn't force myself to perform daily prayer, I felt SO FREE! Free of guilt, free of religious pressure, free from the desperate search to receive something from Jesus and free from the paralyzing fear of making decisions without divine guidance. I felt like an abused wife who just left her husband to start a new life.

But I still struggle with fear and "what if".

WHAT IF I'm sending myself to hell. WHAT IF the silence from God was a test, and I've failed. WHAT IF this change in my beliefs comes from the devil. WHAT IF I had eternal life in the palm of my hand and I've simply not worked hard enough to keep it. It's like a lingering residue from my many years in church that I can't shake off.

How have you dealt with the lingering "what if's" that comes from walking away from Christianity?

But I still struggle with fear and "what if".