Goodbye Jesus

Personal Relationship

Margee

I was thinking this morning of how hard I tried to have this 'personal close relationship' with an invisible god who was supposed to be my very best friend.

I tried so many ways in my imagination to picture jesus at my side or his holy spirit 'engulfing' me, to say and do the right things. I pretended that he was watching me as I studied my bible. The most I always felt so close was in church, when we were singing a slow gospel song to him.

How did you guys manage to have a close 'personal relationship' with something invisible?

How did you guys manage to have a close 'personal relationship' with something invisible?

I understood from a young age that everyone was faking it, and I basically played along, although mostly in terms of nodding knowingly at everyone else's unctuous comments rather than adding any of my own. I still somehow felt God was real, but not in a personal way. More of a philosophical way. More along the lines of "millions of fellow believers couldn't be completely wrong".

Even later when I was exposed to soft-core charismatics, I just felt they were working themselves up into a frantic froth of emotionalism to fake it. A failure of imagination on my part, I suppose, but I never felt guilty about it. I think there was an implicit "don't ask, don't tell" policy available for those who wished to subscribe to it. In other words, as long as you don't rock the boat with sinful talk about doubts, you could get a free pass from all the glad-handing and carrying on.