Goodbye Jesus

What Made Us Different?

rocklobster

Now for me, in my short experience with christianity. literally it took 6 months for it to brainwash and destroy my life.

in the beginning it was all good, i had a new belief. it gave me a new perspective. but, i soon (and i mean real soon) found out

how much christianity was not all honey and rainbows. I started to read the bible. i started learning more about god, but never

really caught on with the rest of my fellow brothers about his so called "love for us". I think over time the more that feeling felt absent

the more i started to resent god. things like "hell (i have a gay brother whom im very close to , so this one hit me real hard), the fact that

more than 80% of this world is doomed to it forever, contradictory nature of god started to cause me doubts. i started praying to god in the beginning with

the utmost faith, that these problems would go away or figure themselves out with his helping hand leading the way. but after 5 months of just

growing more and more in doubt, the more i started to resent God. eventually i got burnt out and started avoiding church, i started hating the idea of it.

although im still scared of what may be to come.. i can say i dont want to worship a god of such evils that sends everyone to a place that would make

world war 2 look like a squirt gun fight between 2 kids. that and i have problems with the validity of it all now.

but i guess straight to the point...

what made me or anyone elses difference in thought change, while my friends at church surely are pegged with the same questions i had to deal with.

I know i had to jump through alot of mental hoops to keep sane with my beliefs. it got to a point where i stopped taking care of myself.

surely deep in their heart not feel like hell is a moral thing right? or maybe they can just deal with the mental hoops better than i was able to? maybe they dont mind ignoring those questions?