Goodbye Jesus

Told My Pastor I'm Quitting Today

kclark

A few weeks ago I posted a topic called "What Should I Do?" about my dilemma of trying to leave a church I've been playing at for eight years. Here's part of the post:

I'm torn about how to leave the church I play music for. In my head I've come up with two choices:

1) I have a part-time job that I work at every Sunday morning except the Sunday that I play for the church. I've thought about telling them that the job is requiring me to work every Sunday starting in December or January, so I won't be able to play for them anymore. I figure this would give them a little time to find a replacement.

2) I could ask the pastor if I could talk to him in private after a Sunday service and explain that I no longer believe, and so I don't feel that I should play for their church anymore.

Today I finally mustered up the courage to tell him after service. So in a way I chose option #2. I say in a way because I didn't bust out and tell him "I'm atheist now and I'm quitting." I said I'd been doing lots of studying/reading for the last seven or eight months (which is true) and was not sure about what I believed right now. I said it was a spiritual and that I didn't feel right continuing to play for the youth choir and accepting the raise he was planning to give me with all the questions I had right now. He repeatedly asked if he or his wife had done anything to offend me, and I assured him that wasn't the case (which is true--aside from a comment about gay marriage he made that didn't sit well with me, I've never had a problem with them). We exchanged a few words, said goodbye and I left without look back.