Goodbye Jesus

Enough Is Enough

Sirelien

Hi there people. I'm a UK mathematics undergraduate. I have been a Christian my whole life, since that was how I was brought up. And two years ago, the very idea that I'd be posting on a forum such as this one, announcing that I'd lost my faith, would have been laughable.

Oh I had many questions and gripes about Christianity. There were elements of it I didn't like. The disrespect for science was a bit of a turnoff, as was the irrational hatred of homosexuals. And I never got my head around the book of Job, and why that supposedly showed God as a good being, worthy of worship, instead of a crazed psychopath who'll happily destroy lives (literally) just for a bet.

But I told myself that there were answers to all these flaws. Religion itself was flawed. But God himself was good and perfect, like I'd always been told. I just needed to have faith and to seek his wisdom and guidance.

Two years ago, I did just that. I faced a very difficult choice in my life. What that choice was, I'd rather not go into in detail. It suffices to say that I had two options - A or B. A was the safe option. B was risky, but the potential benefits were considerable. It was one of the most difficult decisions I have ever had to make, and I did what every good Christian is told to do. I took it to God.

How many countless hours did I spend praying about this choice! I dread to think. I earnestly sought his advice like I'd never sought it before. I desperately wanted to get it right, not just for myself, but for other people who would be affected. I was fully prepared to put my faith in him and to do what he told me.

Well, I can honestly say that the result of my prayer was nothing. Absolutely nothing! So I made the decision myself. I weighed the evidence and the options and made the rational decision to go with option B.