Goodbye Jesus

Exjehovah's Witness And Psychology Student

Terrixjw

Hi there,

My name is Terri, I was raised as a Jehovah's Witness which I left when I was 21, and am now 32. I was very much involved in my religion, and a firm believer, but am now an atheist. I'm currently studying for a degree in the UK in Social Psychology, and am doing some research on the effects of leaving a high control religious group such as the JWs, Scientologists, Mormons, etc. If people from here don't mind and if some are interested, would it be ok, if I posted a link to my questionnaire here soon for people to take part in if they want to?

It would just be a questionnaire that asks questions about your attitudes and characteristics. It would be completely confidential, and I wouldn't ask any questions, like names, locations (other than country) or anything that could specifically point an individual out. All data would be kept confidential and would be analysed statistically only by myself and my supervisor at the university. And of course people could change their mind and drop out at any point through the questionnaire.

Anyway, it might be interesting to people here.... My main reason for searching for this forum, is because I'd like to compare and contrast people who leave mainstream christianity to those who leave more high control religious groups, to see what if any the differences are.

Do people think that they might find this interesting? And do people think that maybe people would like to take part? Are most here from mainstream Christianity, or not???

Feel free to ask me any questions about my own history.....

I've chatted in forums like this for xJWs for years now, so it would be interesting to see if you guys are the same as us! Probably! lol!

xxxx

I like what you are trying to do.