Goodbye Jesus

When Clients Witness To Me...

decafaholic

Ok, I can relate, but that's pretty fucked up. Don't hurt them, decaf! ;)

I'm a massage therapist, which means I spend a lot of time in a room with a total stranger enveloped by elevator music.

Occasionally, I'll have a particularly religious client who sees it as an opportunity to quiz me about my beliefs and recommend I give theirs a try. Thankfully, it doesn't happen often.

But Thursday, I had a return client who I hadn't seen in a while. Apparently, we had previously discussed my lack of faith, although I don't remember it, and he must have brought it up, because I never start spiritual discussions w/clients.

Anyway, he asked if I was going anywhere on my spiritual journey and I said no, not lately. I've taken a break from doing any spiritual reading, although I read The Four Agreements a while back and really liked it.

Then came the insufferable question: "Have you ever thought of just reading the bible?"

Me: I've read it

Him: What parts have you read?

Me: all of it

Him: Old testament and new?

Me: yes, it was required reading.

Him: I find it's always better when you read something because you WANT to. Maybe give it another try.

Me: I don't think I'm going to be reading the bible any time soon.

He went on to recommend a book by Rick Warren's wife ( even as a christian, I found The Purpose Driven Life boring. I'm not a fan) and told me he would be praying for me.

I was very professional and polite and when I got home, I beat my head against a wall (figuratively).

It's like Christians CANNOT COMPREHEND someone reading the bible thoroughly, being completely immersed in Christianity and church culture and then saying "Nah, it's not for me."