Goodbye Jesus

Coming To Terms With My Identity Crisis (Long Post)

McMike

(Warning: Very long post. This is what happens when you give a writer an open forum.)

Well, here goes nothing. I’m an atheist. After nearly 30 years of doing the Christian song and dance, I just can’t do it anymore when none of it makes reasonable sense. Although the journey that took me from fundamentalist Christian to atheist was a little over a year long, it’s only in the last month or so that I’ve allowed myself to use the word “atheist” (even if I haven’t used it with other people yet).

So, how did this transformation occur? That takes a little context. If you are familiar with Myers-Briggs Personality Typology, then note that I am an INTP, and that may help explain a little.

I grew up in a small town in Wisconsin and naturally (or so it seemed) went to church and youth group. Although I was an excellent student and involved in a number of clubs and organizations throughout high school, the church was the primary place I thought I got my identity. I believed that I was a Christian first, and everything else was secondary.

Despite this source of identity, I can remember clearly having questions from a very young age. When I was very young, my parents have told me my favorite thing to say always was “Why?” That tendency continued throughout much of my life, even if I now realize I shielded religion from this probing at times. The few times I would let my reason peak into religion, I almost always came away with questions such as “Where did God come from?” When I voiced those questions, I typically got the pat little answers you would expect ranging from appeals to mystery to being handed a book that supposedly addressed my question. Of course, because my very identity was in Christ, I realize now that I was willing to accept almost any plausible sounding answer and was willing to ignore what I now see as blatantly obvious fallacies.