Goodbye Jesus

Do Human Rights Exist?

SquareOne

In another thread, an issue was raised about human rights.  A member of the forum stated that human rights are objective.  I disagreed, saying that they are subjective, because they only reflect current thinking.

Now, perhaps we misunderstood each other.  But, for me it raised a very important jurisprudential question - is there such a thing as "Natural Law", pre-existing before any human laws, universally applicable, conferring inalienable rights?  Or, are there no objective rights and wrongs in society, leaving us to construct our laws and rights according to the best of our ability?

I studied this issue as part of my undergraduate law degree.  I do not profess to have fabulously gained a detailed knowledge.  I have a limited grasp of a few key concepts.  But, I hope, it is enough to help frame a discussion.

My personal view is the following:

1) We cannot know for sure whether Natural Law exists or not.

2) Whilst acknowledging that I cannot know for sure, I do not have any evidence to believe there is a Natural Law.  Therefore we must decide as a society what inalienable rights human beings should have.

3) I may be wrong about points 1) and 2).

Why do I believe these things?  My personal belief is that since I have no evidence of any sort of god, or other supernatural force that has set a fixed, objective standard set of rules, then there can be no objective morality, and therefore no objective Natural Law.

If I believed in YHWH, I could point to the Ten Commandments, and say "these laws are fixed and unchanging, and represent Natural Law".  However, I do not believe in YHWH, so this is not available to me.