Goodbye Jesus

A Hindu Converts To Christianity And Recognizes His Error

Bhim

Hi all, I'm new to ExC.  I left Christianity three years ago, and have since then spent a great deal of time thinking about my experience.  I don't know anyone who's experience was quite like mine, so I recently figured I should start looking online.  I've been reading many of your posts here, and I must say there are some inspirational and encouraging stories to be heard.  I'm interested in joining the conversation, and I'd like to start by introducing myself.

I'm 28 years old, and I was born and raised in the midwestern United States.  As far as profession goes I'm an astrophysicist.  I'm probably a somewhat "non-traditional" deconvert by the standards of this place, in that I wasn't raised Christian.  I'm an Indian American; both my parents are from India, and they raised me Hindu.  My belief in God has waxed and waned over time, but I've always been fascinated by religion itself and why people believe what they believe.  I've also always enjoyed doing religious activities, regardless of whether there is a supernatural being who finds meaning in what I'm doing.