Goodbye Jesus

Hello. :)

Blake

First and foremost, a heartfelt thank you to all involved in creating and keeping this site running. For several months now I've wanted a place to share my story without fear of reprimand, insult or struggle. Short of changing my 'religious status' on the about me section of Facebook, I've not been able to talk to anyone about my deconversion process with the Christian faith. It would most likely cause a lot of rifts and hurt feelings, bruised egos, and misunderstandings.

For starters, my name is Blake. I'm 26. I spent my youth in Sunday school, learning about the stories of Noah, Moses, and the other assorted patriarchs of the Christian faith. I carried my faith with me on through the years, despite a few years of rebellion in high school -- you know, alcohol, drugs, and other assorted means of sinfulness. As a late year teen I studied under a couple of pastors to gear me up towards preaching, I even had a little church lined up for me in Virginia to get started in once my training was finished. I thought my life was all figured out.

I studied the faith deeply, and became disillusioned with the more modern renditions of Christian faith, eventually leading me to the Orthodox Church. It was a more ancient, solemn, aesthetically pleasing form of worship that had a lot more backbone, and a lot more for me to delve into and learn. Lives of the Saints. Early Christian theology. Monasticism. I thought that I had found the greatest truth, and I became totally immersed in it.

I received a blessing from my parish priest and spiritual father to spend a week long retreat in a monastery in the mountains of West Virginia. This, by far, was the beginning of the end.