Goodbye Jesus

Christianity Has Created A Mess For My Family

DAZE1231

Hey Good People,

I couldn't wait to get my account approved in order to post on this forum. Here's my story about what Christianity has done to my family and relationships:

I grew up in a home that wasn't particularly religious, with the exception of my grandmother who was a devout Roman Catholic. I went to sunday school in a Catholic church, got my first communion, and sporadically went to church. I wouldn't say i ever had any strong conviction about god, and generally found the catholic mass to be uninspiring and depressing.

I graduated college in the early 90's, and took many classes in college, including anthropology and geology that affirm my belief that the origin of life was most logically based on Darwinian principles. However, i didn't deny the existence of god, and would likely have considered myself agnostic.

Despite my general antipathy towards organized religion, i was fascinated by the afterlife and spirituality. I maintained an open mind, but beginning in adulthood, had a tendency towards paranoia when I would here street preachers or others preaching about hell fire. A little voice inside my head would ask, "what if this is true?" Usually the feelings would dissipate quickly and i'd snap out of it. Throughout my 30's, i gave no heed whatsoever to religion, and it was a glorious time. I met my wife, had children, travelled, etc..