Goodbye Jesus

Morality

StillLooking

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting in this forum. A bit about my background: the branch of christianity that I am most familiar with is catholicism because I grew up with it. I am in my mid thirties but I apologize if I sound like a confused teenager.

I am going to go right to the point. I have been confused about morality. Fortunately / unfortunately about a month ago, a friend introduced me to Buddhism and that has made me thinking about right or wrong issues. I now can see so many acts that christians characterize as wrong when seen in different lights will give different perspectives. This leads me to think that morality is relative, relative to the time, the people involved, the intentions, etc. I have been racking my brain of any act that is wrong no matter what and I came with one act: rape, as in a sexual act without consent. At this moment I couldn't imagine a situation that rape can be acceptable. So this leads me thinking that there is such a thing as absolute morality then. If there is an absolute morality, how can we find and learn about this? Are there any teachings out there about this true absolute morality?

Can anyone help me here? I think I am making myself confused about this morality issue. I have been browsing this forum for a while and I cannot find a topic about this. If this has been discussed in the past, would someone kindly let me know where to find the posts? Thanks!

If there are teachings on true absolute morality, how do you tell them apart from the teachings that just claim to be on the true absolute morality?

• Like 1

I came with one act: rape, as in a sexual act without consent. At this moment I couldn't imagine a situation that rape can be acceptable.

If a man and a woman are the only human beings left on earth and the man wants to prevent the extinction of the human race...just kidding