Goodbye Jesus

Creationism And Genetics

TheSpiritualPilgrim

Hello all.  I am new to studying evolution, genetics and all that.  I am in a little online conversation with a young earth fundy who disputed macro-evolution by saying this:

4) Your scientist friends have dug a huge grave for themselves because Darwin was completely ignorant of Genetics whereas on the other hand the Christian Gregor Mandel who practiced honest science also became the father of modern Genetics and this my friend is the downfall of Darwin’s little theory.

I read a few articles and found a whole heap of info that seems kinda hard to sort through.  I'm wondering if any of you could help me out with some good info to reply.  Maybe some good articles to read or reference to? 

The ignorance burns.  Mendel knew nothing of genetics.  His work was mostly ignored until the 20th century.  What Mendel discovered was a pattern of inheritance in pea plants.  It did turn out to be useful in the modern world but that had nothing to do with his religion.  Everyone alive before genetics were discovered was ignorant of genetics, including Charles Darwin.  That doesn't make the Theory of Evolution false.  Rather studying genetics confirms evolution because every living thing carries the DNA of thousands of ancestors.  This older code proves that organisms evolve over time.  Knowledge of DNA is the thing that makes modern scientists certain that evolution is fact.

There is no such thing as 'macro-evolution'... it's all just evolution, little changes (micro, I guess) over a lot of time.. and I mean a LOT of time, and with environmental pressure, creates speciation (the evolution of new species which can not breed with prior 'parent' species). Please look up ring species.. that explains it well.

No pressure, very little change..(sharks - for example) lots of pressure/isolation/predation/climate change, etc..., either extinction, or evolution (higher primates - man). It's quite simple really.