Goodbye Jesus

Free Will

Ravenstar

I was just thinking about the entire free will crap, and I realized that the OT god really didn't give much of a shit about anyone's free will. Suddenly in the NT.. this is a big deal?

If I am wrong, please.. do correct me!  ;)

• Like 1

I hate the idea that god has given us "free will" and then if we decide we don't want to believe in him, or worship him, then we are condemned to hell-- what kind of free will is that. 

I am a manager-- and I actually don't like the "yes men" mentality-- I like people who question me on occasion because they help me see things in a different way-- and sometimes a better way.  I am not always right.  If god was smart, he would like people like us, because we provide a balance for him.

But, this is one of the biggest reasons that i have trouble believing in god at all-- he will send me to hell for disagreeing with him, and he supposedly made me smart enough to question him, which is also wrong.  Ugghh.

• Like 2

Exodus 9:12

"And the Lord hardened the heart of Pharaoh, and he hearkened not unto them; as the Lord had spoken unto Moses."

If God says you will not listen then God will use his magic powers to make you not listen.  That way God gets to kill your oldest son.

• Like 2

Universal free will is effectively demolished in the New Testament in Rom 8, Rom 9, and Eph 1:4-5,11.

Free will is a popular Christian talking point that ignores scripture.

• Like 1

• Super Moderator

Free will is a lie.  You can't tell me I have free will if there is a punishment attached to my making the wrong choice, especially if the punishment so greivously outweighs the choice.  Again, what kind of father would take his kid into a candy store and say, "You can have anything in this store you want, but if you don't choose what I want you to choose, then I will beat you until you are black, red, and blue"?