Goodbye Jesus

Carpooling With A Fundy

No Heaven for Kevin

I have been carpooling with this guy for about 4 months, ever since the oil company bastards really started shaking us down. He is a fundamentalist, and is well aware of my atheism. As you can imagine, our conversation frequently turns to religion. I don't like to talk about it, I would like to keep the conversation on sports or something. But, he is always asking me questions about why I turned away from Christianity. We have been loaning each other books from our personal libraries to try and help each other to see why we have made these philisophical choices.

Most of you know, these conversations usually go in circles, and nobody learns anything. Well, this guy has proven he is worth the effort. He announced to me yesterday that he now accepts Evolution, and is willing to look at Genesis as allegory (I prefer myth, but I'll take what I can get). He read a book called "The Hidden Face of God" over the holiday, which is written by a Jewish person, but it promotes the idea that you have to accept the facts of science. He just gave me the book today, and I'm interesting in seeing this books perspective.

Now, just two weeks ago, this guy was completely set in his belief that the Earth was 6,000 years old, and evolution was a big lie to discredit Christianity. So this is a major move forward for him, although it has more of a religious twist than I am comfortable with, I realize that moving away from heavy dogma takes baby-steps.

I know we all get on here and rant about the fundies who get our panties in a bunch, but is there anyone else out there who is making progress with any fundy family or friends?