Goodbye Jesus

Non-Believers Can't Love

ax345

Hello,

This is my first time posting here.  I was brought up nominally Catholic (Eastern rite) with no pressure from my parents to be devout.  However, I suddenly dove headlong into Catholicism on my own in college through friends who were part of prayer groups and communities in the Catholic Charismatic Renewal.  I stayed very religious for several years afterwards, then gradually lost it all.  I still feel open to belief in something divine, but the fact that divinity is, by definition, not measurable or provable, means I will probably never fully believe again.  I can't just bypass all reason and say, "Screw it, I believe", or something similar...ha ha!

One lousy aspect of being in the rigidly Catholic circles I was in was the way that non-believers were always seen as unable to genuinely love because they were operating on their own power, and not seeking God's grace.  I felt a definite fear of leaving the support of fellow Catholics and Christians, as if I would fall into an abyss of selfish, life-wasting behavior.  As if it's all God or NOTHING.

Granted, I actually matured a good bit in my Catholic days, and I did learn some good things about looking around at the needs of others.  But this insular idea of saying, "We are the only ones living life the way it's meant to be" was pure crock, and dangerous crock at that.  And I could have learned the same lessons of maturity without the attachment to faith. 

Now that I am on my own, spiritually, I am open to not just seeing goodness in everybody (thankfully, Catholicism didn't erase that), but also to believing that people can be as good as they are meant to be without religion.  In other words, a life of "sin" doesn't necessarily disable a person from being a force of good for those around them.  

• Super Moderator