Goodbye Jesus

Ex-Muslim Website

Ravenstar

Not sure if this fits here in this forum, but I was on this site and I found it enlightening. We have a lot in common.

http://www.councilofexmuslims.com

There is a forum area… it's fascinating.  :)

• Like 2

Ravenstar, I'm just beginning to browse the "5 strongest arguments against the Quran" thread.

http://www.councilofexmuslims.com/index.php?topic=17132.0

Some excerpts:

"Don't know if I ever talked to you before, but I read your discussions with the other members on freewill and the Quran being vague or not. Let me tell you what's going on here. You are picking and choosing which interpretation fits your morality and what you believe is true, and all the other interpretations just got it wrong. This is what Prince means by mental gymnastics."

-hmmm, so the members of another monotheistic religion ALSO picks and chooses which interpretations fit their morality... you don't say 

"You think that the Quran is a message produced by the creator of the universe, and you believe you are part of small fraction of humanity called Quranists, who understand the creator of the universe's message. 

You believe most of humanity - including muslims - fail to comprehend it, but you are amongst the minority that is able to understand the message from the creator of the universe.

You think you are part of an 'elite'.

You think you are special."

-I'm thinking of at least 5 different christians in our own lions' den who think like this, just substitute a few proper nouns 

Just what I was thinking"

In the forums there was this exchange:  (emphasis mine)

Did you go to Mecca after you became a disbeliever?

No,  but I pretended to be a Muslim for many months before I came out to my parents, (praying at the mosque every evening, going to Islamic talks occasionally, and in Ramadhan 2008, I fasted, prayed Taraweeh and payed Zakat as a closed atheist).