Goodbye Jesus

Musical Dilemma

Beowulf

I grew up in a fundamentalist family, but eventually got tired of the foolishness. I have rejected almost all of the tenets of Christianity, except for those dealing with charity. Given my own personality, I'd probably adhere to those whether I'd ever heard of Christ or not. I would consider myself agnostic at this point.

Here's the dilemma. I am a choral musician and have taught music and directed choral groups for a number of years. Nothing brings me greater pleasure than to finely tune a piece of music with an ensemble in rehearsal, then perform it for an audience. Now there is a wealth of secular music, but so much of the repertoire comes from the Christian tradition.

So far this hasn't been a problem. I've been able to approach my singing academically, and have also performed works from other traditions. My dilemma is that even though I have rejected Christianity, I still enjoy working with church choirs. I'm currently an interim at a Presbyterian Church. There's no way I'd work at a conservative or fundamentalist church. Again, I have reconciled myself with my beliefs, and when this gig is over, I will miss the music, but won't miss the Sunday and Wednesday obligations.

To quote scripture (egads), I guess this is an example of "having a form of workshop but denying the power thereof." I know I'm not being honest with my congregation, but if I treat this a professional situation, and so far haven't had a problem.

Comments?

• Admin

It's music, regardless of the topic or the setting, it's still music.

I like all types of music, Islamic, Christian, whatever - music is MUSIC!

I see no contradiction with leading a choir, passion play, or anything else - it's entertainment.

Now, in my fundie days, I would scratch my head because most of the musicians in the big churches were as secular as they come. I knew they were there for only one reason, to express their art. As a fundie, I thought that was wrong.