Goodbye Jesus

How do I overcome 'Heaven's reward fallacy'?

Wittyusername

The heaven's reward fallacy is the belief that positive actions will be rewarded. This is true in Christianity but also in secular thinking. Examples:

- I worked hard, I should get promoted 

- I was kind, they should be friendly towards me.

- I studied hard, I should get a good job.

- I spent a lot of time, money and effort on eating right and exercising hard- I should now be in good health.

- I am sensible and frugal, I should be financially secure.

or

- My aunt should not have manipulated me.

- my husband should not have betrayed me.

- that pastor should not have stolen from my bank account when I let him use my card to put fuel in the church van. People still pat him on the back and everyone says he is amazing.

- my doctor should have diagnosed me correctly. Other doctors later showed he was negligent.

However, in real life there is no one keeping score. Shitty things happen to good people and vice versa.

The examples above are just some of the things that have been eating me up.(the pastor example was changed - what he did was worse).

Before, I would be comforted to think 'God has a plan,' 'his ways are not our ways', ''vengeance is mine', sayeth the Lord.' Pie in the sky when you die. Now I am eaten up because things are shitty and unfair and I can't get past that.

How can I reframe these thoughts?

• Like 1

People don't get what they deserve. The just get what they get.

The idea that anyone us entitled to anything is simply incorrect. I'm alive, and my life doesn't completely suck. That alone makes me one of the very lucky ones. It isn't terribly comforting to think this way, but I think it's a much more accurate approach.

• Like 4