Goodbye Jesus

A hypothesis

Bibler

Lately I’ve been thinking about something and trying to google it using numerous different word combinations in an attempt to find something  even partially related to what I’m seeking but I am failing hard. I’m studying psychology and I’m developing a hypothesis concerning a correlation in which I want to investigate whether there is a causal link between an already acquired knowledge on God (Abrahamic religions in particular) prior to the emersion of visions, sensations and other subjective phenomena that are commonly referred to as personal experience evidence.

My hypothesis basically asserts that said phenomena is resulting not directly from previously acquired knowledge itself, but rather from the built-up expectation of its effects on the real world that is accompanying it. The more a person is inclined to believe, the higher the intensity of this expectation is. Something like confirmation bias, more or less.

I’m trying to find out if there is a case where a person who has never before heard of Jesus, Yahweh, Allah or anything even slightly related to any Abrahamic religion, has actually had some sort of personal experience with them. Be it dreams, visions, or whatever else. Or in other words, a person who has obtained knowledge of the biblical God through unexplainable means. This would serve as an attempt to remove the asserted causative event from the hypothesis in order to test whether the caused event would still occur. Then there would be two possible outcomes:

a:      caused event still occurs – therefore while we can still hypothesize that said causative event is also valid, we cannot confirm that it is the only one to cause it.

b:     Caused event does not occur – therefore we can safely confirm that said causative event is valid and is also the only one to cause it.