Goodbye Jesus

I'm thinking of going back to church- am I a terrible person?

Lydie

I agree with all the articles which say religion holds humans back. I know first hand that that kind of religious does unthinkable damage in a person's life. I never had much 'fun' when I was young (going out, drinking, being loud). I chose a useless career and married an unsuitable person in a large part due to religion.

BUT

I'm so lonely. I am not good at making friends and leaving church left me quite lonely even though I realise now they were never real friends or 'spiritual brothers and sisters'. Their loss cut me deeply. However it would be lovely to have acquaintances. I miss the singing. I have looked into Sunday Assemblies and they seem to have shut down. 

I would probably lie. I have learned from experience that atheism either (a) makes people uncomfortable, scared you will infect them too and your demonic thinking possess them too... or (b) make you a project to be evangelised to. I have seen it and am ashamed to have also done it myself.

My kid is 14 and apart from these last couple of years has always been fully immersed in church. When we visit relatives we go. The damage is done.

Has anyone here done something similar?

If you want acquaintances and love singing, why not join a secular choir?

I mean, having to lie about who you are and disagreeing with something that's really crucial to the group...I don't see how that's healthy.

Then again you definitely wouldn't be the first person to go (back) to church just to get to be with people. We are social animals and we love how it feels to do things together. Your longing for this is very natural and very understandable, and one of the things that go through my mind now and then too, even though I'm way past believing in biblegod. 

Are there any Unitarian Universalist groups near you by any chance? 

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1