Goodbye Jesus

What has been the hardest part of your deconversion from Christianity?

Faeryn

Just curious about what the most difficult part of deconversion is for everyone, and what you've been doing to recover from that?

The hardest part for me has been trying to erase Christian ideas of shame and guilt - the sense that I'm constantly doing something bad, even though I'm not. Intermingled with this is shame about my sexuality. 

I'm still new to recovering from my Christian past so I'm trying to work this out in psychotherapy. 

• Like 3

That I'm on my own. No one is looking out for me, orchestrating coincidences, talking to me in my dreams or thoughts. 

I also have carried and still carry a lot of shame, slowly working through it - but I don't think it's all from religion. 

• Like 7

@Faeryn,

At first the toughest part was realizing that, when we leave this world, that's it. Then I realized hey, it's just like taking a nap.

Then it was the fear of what if the jebus freaks are right and there is a hell. But tons of reading the works of folks who are much much smarter than me dispelled that fear. Religion in general is largely fear based and xianity takes the lead there I think.

Thirdly it was telling Mrs. MOHO. I know. I know. There I go again with the Mrs. MOHO diatribe.

But she really is a "my way or the highway" kind of person. And she is currently setting up social events involving me and the critty bitties. Next week is a din din party in that environment and my plan is to lay it on with the Dawkins, Hitchens, FitzGerald et al.

Maybe this approach will put an end to the attempts at re-indoctrination. :P

• Like 5

Loss of social structure was probably the most unpleasant aspect & consequence of leaving the church, but I knew that would happen. The loss of our best friends was a little surprising. I didn't realize our friendship was dependent on where we went to church, but as it turned out it was.