Goodbye Jesus

Still figuring out this atheist thing.

graceofgrace

I started this letter off as a letter to my parents, but I couldn’t find the words. I thought I was ready to tell them I’ve decided I don’t believe in God and I don’t want to be a part of the church any more. Now it’s just for whoever wants to listen. Maybe I’ll figure out what to say to them after I get it all out of my system, but maybe I’ll just keep lying to them about my reality, like I always have. 

My parents are very Christian, my dad’s a pastor. And growing up in their household as the oldest of four kids, I was expected to be the role model for my siblings, attend church with joy every single week, make the “Godly” choices. Respect my parents, and obey. Essentially, be perfect, but don’t worry you can’t, because Jesus is the only one who is perfect, but here’s some unrealistic expectations for you now anyways because that’s just how it is. I left home right after I graduated high school, and never thought about moving back. At 18 years old, I wanted to travel the world, save the world. I had nothing but adventure and helping those less fortunate than I was in me. I was still pretty gung-ho about the whole Jesus thing, but I think that my heart was in the right place at the time. Even though there were some secrets I’d been keeping from my parents (and myself) about my sexuality, I think that at the time, my heart was open to pretty much anything the world could give me. So I joined a year long volunteer service, starting in the fall of the year I graduated high school (2013) and on my very first day of work at my assignment, I got the most devastating news of my life.