Goodbye Jesus

I was never really into it...

Stackrat

I guess this is a good place to start.  Everyone seems to be posting their stories of "how I got to here," so here's mine. 

I was recently referred to this website by a former co-worker.  As he reminded me, it's been 16 years since we worked together and we both considered ourselves christians at the time.

I'm male, 53 (at the time of this writing) and widowed with three adult sons.  I was born and raised in NJ, but now live in KY.  I have a degree in engineering and politically, I identify as a Libertarian.  I'm now engaged to a woman who is also widowed, also atheist and also has three adult children. 

I was raised Presbyterian and my dad was active in the church.  He was an "elder," but in more of a management role (mostly as treasurer or whatever the position is that was responsible for the buildings and grounds).  He was not (and still isn't) anywhere near as religious as many of the people I've come to know now that I live in the bible-belt.  In a way, he's more "spiritual" than "religious."  My mother was raised catholic.  She was religious, but just short of the point of actually going to church. 

Every Sunday, they would drag me to Sunday school (sometimes kicking and screaming).  Somewhere around 4th or 5th grade - between the story of Job and the one about the guy who wore his brother's coat to trick his blind dad on his death bed -  I came to the conclusion that it was all B.S.  I couldn't take any of it seriously after that.  I did remain somewhat "spiritual" after that, though, believing in the standard god, heaven, hell and praying once in a while, but not much more than that. 

One day, I discovered I could get out of Sunday school by feigning illness - every Sunday.  My parents pretty much gave up after that.  The only reason I went through the "confirmation" ritual was because my parent convinced me that one day I might need the church to get married in (which I later did, in fact).