Goodbye Jesus

WHERE DID WE (THE UNIVERSE) COME FROM?

Weezer

After years of studying the history of gods and religion, I believe they came from the minds of humans.  And I definitely do not believe any of the creation stories I have heard.  It leaves me with some unanswered questions about where everything came from.

So there was a "big bang."  I am not a scientist, but it kinda makes sense.   The question I am still left with is this.  If there was a big bang, where did the matter and energy come from to make the big bang (or what ever process it was) possible??

Until someone can answer that question I will continue to be agnostic rather than an atheist.  It just seems like there is some kind of "energy" or "force" out there we have yet to understand.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Goodbye Jesus

Damn I wish BAA was here right now. He'd love this question.

Ok, there are several ideas about this. One of them is the idea of an eternal cosmos in which we are just one pocket universe in an infinite number of universes constantly having big bangs, evolving, then dying. The other is the idea that there never was "nothing" in the literal sense of the word. Thus something came from something.

As for as answering it... chances are we never will. Possibly the same with abiogenesis. It doesn't make religious explanations any more valid of course, it simply points to gaps in our knowledge.

One book that might be of interest is A Universe from Nothing by L Krauss.

As far as being agnostic - well I'm an agnostic atheist. Remember Gnosticism deals with knowledge, theism deals with belief. Thus I don't know there is no god, (agnostic) but I don't believe in any. (atheist) I also don't know how the universe started (agnostic) but follow the ideas and advances in science but so far have no way I'm leaning as yet so no 'belief' for any particular hypothesis.  

• Like 3

At work right now. @Weezer, it's a good question. I will give this some attention later.