Goodbye Jesus

M-Theory/String Theory - Science or Speculation??

disillusioned

hyperholiday: You indicated in the other thread that you were interested in M-theory, and I promised to explain why I don't consider it to properly be science. I'm hoping this thread will examine that topic in some detail. Other participants are welcome, of course. The more perspectives the better.

To get us started, I'd like to suggest that participants read the following article by Jim Holt.

https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2006/10/02/unstrung-2/amp

There are a lot of salient points in the article, some of which are tangential to the topic at hand. But it does describe string theory and M-theory fairly well in layman's terms, which is why I suggest reading it first.

I should say at the outset that I'm not an expert here. I know a thing or two about physics,  but that's about it. I'm looking forward to this discussion. Hopefully we can all learn something.

• Thanks 1

Good article. 

After I read Brian Greene (The Elegant Universe), I remember questioning in my mind what that even means - the last divisible properties of matter. Is that even possible? Or could it be infinitely divided? With no absolute bottom to the microcosm? Matching a macrocosm with no top end. 

On 5/17/2019 at 2:14 PM, disillusioned said:

hyperholiday: You indicated in the other thread that you were interested in M-theory, and I promised to explain why I don't consider it to properly be science. I'm hoping this thread will examine that topic in some detail. Other participants are welcome, of course. The more perspectives the better.

To get us started, I'd like to suggest that participants read the following article by Jim Holt.

There are a lot of salient points in the article, some of which are tangential to the topic at hand. But it does describe string theory and M-theory fairly well in layman's terms, which is why I suggest reading it first.