Goodbye Jesus

Christianchat.com

Spectrox

I’ve just recently completed a bit of an epic debate on a Christian site (some might say “creative trolling”).

https://christianchat.com/bible-discussion-forum/what-do-you-believe-and-why-do-you-believe-it.186444/

For the more seasoned among you there probably isn’t anything new but for the less experienced you might learn something from it. I’ve been debating Christians online since 2011 and I think I’ve reached a certain level of competency. I managed to stay on the site for 6 weeks before being banned. I did this by:

1. Not blatantly breaking any of their House Rules

2. Being fair and honest – admitting when I didn’t know something or acknowledging when a Christian at least attempted to make a decent argument.

3. Going for the ball not the player.

4. Trying a Socratic approach to questioning and gradually being more assertive.

5. Attempting to be as rational, logical and evidence-based as I could be.

6. Having good Biblical knowledge.

7. Not pushing things too much if I felt the Christian’s whole life would fall apart if they stopped having faith – that’s just mean.

The mistake I made was letting them know I would be leaving the country and therefore the thread at any moment – though in reality this has been postponed anyway – but I believe they used this as an excuse to get rid of me prematurely. I tried logging on on 11 September and a message popped up saying they no longer wanted to hear my atheistic, anti-Christian views and that my time was up. But I also noticed they left my status as “Active Member” when it should have said “Banned”. I think they wanted to be perceived as inclusive when in reality they couldn’t even ban me honestly.