Goodbye Jesus

Christian views on Jews

Wertbag

As a Christian what was your view on Jews? I see some commentators talk about Judeo-Christian values, joining the two together as allies in certain ways and yet considering salvation is via Christ so all Jews will burn in hell?

Seems strange to think the whole OT is written about the Jews as gods chosen people and yet Christians think they now have it wrong for not believing in the NT. Like god doesn't care about the history or worship, its all about the new set of rules. 

But the Jews killed Christ! But Christ was a Jew! But we all follow the same god! But Christ is god so we don't anymore! 

The high school I went to was about 70 percent Jewish, and the local community was heavily Jewish. And the kids there were just as snotty as any other bunch of teenagers. Years later, when I was a wedding photographer, I noticed that the more fundamental Christian the weddings, the more up-tight the people seemed to be. The Catholics were more relaxed. Most of the fundamentalists treated me as hired help, and sometimes I was treated like a scullery maid. But the Jewish weddings were big parties and everyone was relaxed and having a great time. I was usually treated as one of the guests and sometimes invited to sit at one of the main tables with family members. I felt more welcome and at home among the Jews than I ever did among the Christians. If I was going to go back to religion I'd take a good look at Judaism.

(And besides, Yiddish slang is wonderful (mazel tov!)*, and kosher food is great. )

_______

*https://www.dailywritingtips.com/the-yiddish-handbook-40-words-you-should-know/

https://thoughtcatalog.com/nico-lang/2013/10/61-hilarious-yiddish-insults-you-need-to-know/

• Like 1