Goodbye Jesus

Deconverted, Still Transitioning Out

Jaywatt

I was raised by a Christian family, but was mostly neutral on the topic until my dad sent me to a Christian summer camp when I was a freshman in highschool. I came back from that camp a born-again fundy!

My conversion happened 10 years ago, and marked the beginning of a very religious phase of life. Evangelism was common throughout this time frame, since I genuinely believed Christianity was true, and people would go to hell if I didn't preach the Gospel. Most people at church saw me as "on fire".

As I made my way through college and joining the professional workplace, this fire started dwindling. I wasn't afraid to let people know that I was a Christian, but stopped shoving my beliefs down others' throats. In hindsight, I think this was because I didn't want being a Jesus-freak to poorly impact my relationships at school or work.

As time went on, I learned that two of my closest Christian friends from highschool began to doubt Christianity. One of them left Christianity entirely, the other was doubting.

Their doubts made me think that I should examine my own beliefs, and for the first time, I turned the apologetics "defend the bible at all costs" switch off, and began looking into the history of the Bible and Christianity.

I didn't like what I saw! I quickly threw the doctrine of Biblical inerrancy out the window and started investigating progressive Christianity. A couple of months later, I realized I was just trying to hold on to some semblance of faith. Progressive Christianity is definitely less falsifiable, but I couldn't find anything there convincing me that I should dedicate my life to it. So, a few months ago I stopped considering myself a Christian.