Goodbye Jesus

The Accidental Atheist

Krowb

Our journey out of church (mine was Church of Christ)  was similar.  My testimonial is TRUTH:A GRADUAL AWAKENING.

• Super Moderator

I also had a good experience with my church and its leadership. My deconversion began as I started studying the Bible at Moody. My epiphany hit me during a class and I realized it was all just bullshit. Walked away, never looked back, never blamed anyone. Yeah, if you want to remain a believer, for doG's sake don't study the Bible too closely!

• Like 1
  • Thanks 2

10 hours ago, Weezer said:

Our journey out of church (mine was Church of Christ)  was similar.  My testimonial is TRUTH:A GRADUAL AWAKENING.

Will you please send over the most recent version? I note in the message thread you mentioned there is one more recent than was posted.  Thank you.

@florduh I also think it's an important exercise to read the gospels back to back to back to back.  Too many of my friends use Bible study material that has them skip around or read short segments at a time. This disjointed nature of the writings, coupled with the commentary, clouds the issues. This is obviously done on purpose.

I am glad to see this community has people with varying experiences. I was beginning to feel a bit out of place as it appears a majority of the posters had a bad experience or life situation predicated on christianity that drove them away from it. While I am glad they have found peace, that was not the path I had - it took years for me to make peace with it as I simply couldn't fit the square peg in the round hole any longer.

It is nice to find like-minded individuals from a similar path. My private school used to play the Moody Bible Institute's science videos as part of our curriculum regularly.  I know exactly where you're coming from. The top of our class argued for evolution in one of our papers - which was a huge no-no at our school.  Funny what sticks with you over the years.

• Like 1