Goodbye Jesus

I Need an Explanation

TheRedneckProfessor

• Super Moderator

As y'all know, I'm a biological scientist.  As such, physics of any kind is not my field.  It all seems to weird, with its cat's that are dead but not dead, and fucking particles that are actually waves, but not really.  god damn physics.  Nevertheless, can anyone help me decipher what the fuck this article is talking about?  Or, if not, at least provide conjecture or a learned theory (layman's usage)?  Hell, I'd be happy with an opinion, at this point.

https://bigthink.com/13-8/quantum-mechanics-buddhism/

• Like 1

Note: All Regularly Contributing Patrons enjoy Ex-Christian.net advertisement free.

Did you post this just to get us to read the article?

I gleaned from it there is a lot of "fluff" attempting to buttress Buddhism by claiming a particular interpretation of quantum mechanics is THE correct interpretation of quantum mechanics.  This interpretation also shares strong parallels with the Buddhist concept that we cannot divorce what existence _is_ from our perception.  I.e. there is no objective viewpoint (the no God's eye statement).  Buddhism and this interpretation of quantum mechanics both essentially say to observe reality is to affect reality - hence why Schrodinger's equations fail to operate as predicted when observed.  Observation itself appears to be a kind of involvement, altering the outcome.

The author states the attempted combining of two fields is wrong headed especially because there are other, competing interpretations of quantum mechanics.  Some of which, if prove more accurate, will be hostile to current Buddhist thought.

I liked the article and think he's basically saying "don't count your chickens before they hatch."

This is layman's opinion and I may be entirely incorrect, but you did say you'd be happy with an opinion :)

• Like 1

• Super Moderator
1 hour ago, Krowb said:

Did you post this just to get us to read the article?