Goodbye Jesus

Unobservable Dimensions

Totallyatpeace

I was reading something this morning about dimensions and I'm curious as to how a more scientific mind would respond to this:

"For those who have trouble with the acceptance of an unseen realm, consider the perspective of cutting-edge researchers who embrace string theory. Scientists at Stanford, Princeton and Yale postulate that there are ten unobservable dimensions and likely an infinite number of imperceptible universes. If this is what leading scientist believe, why should anyone feel self-conscious about believing in one unobservable dimension?"

Obviously, from a Christian perspective, I could be referring to that other dimension being heaven or hell. But since I know almost nothing about science, my question is really to the scientists out there. Do you believe that there are many other dimensions?

Tap

Ever heard of Flatland?

You know I'm no scientist, TAP.

I don't think anyone who believes in other dimensions needs feel at all self-concious. However, those who think they have knowledge of these dimensions...well, I take their claims with a grain of salt.

I've been trying to get Merriam-Webster to put my picture next to the entry for "skeptic". :grin:

One of the best books I've seen on this theory is The Elegant Universe. It was also made into a Nova TV special in three parts. It's been released on DVD... well worth the buy.

Also try to get Cosmos by Carl Sagan... very inspiring work. A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking is also a great read.

Happy reading!!

Merlin

Thank you for the suggested books and links.......I find them an interesting suggestion considering the quote in my first post comes from a Christian author.

I guess I am a bit confused because a Christian may refer to the suggestion of other multiple dimensions as New-Age "junk". (not my wording--just making my point.)