Goodbye Jesus

Are You An Ex-Liberal Xtian?

Orbit

There are so many ex-fundamentalists and ex-evangelicals here I was wondering if there were any fellow Ex-Liberal Christians here (where "liberal" means non-fundamentalist, mainstream Christian). What was your deconversion like? How did being a liberal Xtian affect it?

• Like 1

I've been both.

The story unravels either way… I'm a liberal at heart and able to look at all evidence, but when it came to Christianity I realized that it really does not allow for liberalism, not if you read it right. Then I realized that the fundamentalism in the Bible was abhorrent. Stuck between a rock and a hard place I came to see it's all bunk.

• Super Moderator

I was raised catholic...and very liberal.  I left the religion before I graduated from high school (1970's).  I re-visited it in the late 80's/early 90's (mainly as a reaction to my husband's new born-againism). During that time, I described myself as new-age, mystical-catholic.  Matthew Fox and his "original blessing" concept worked well for me at the time.  Even now, if I had to choose a religion/spirituality, I could live with the concept of creation spirituality. 

From Wiki:

Among Fox’s most controversial teachings was a belief in "original blessing", which became the title of one of his most popular books. The concept was in direct contravention of the Roman Catholic doctrine that people are born into "original sin". Fox’s teachings also were considered more feminist and ecology-centered, and more accepting of homosexuality than church orthodoxy.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Matthew_Fox_(priest)

However in the end, christianity is BS and I couldn't stay.  But I will always be anathema here in the bible belt south -- a bleeding heart liberal.   Suck it, funditards!   zDuivel7.gif

GONZ9729CustomImage1539775.gif GONZ9729CustomImage1539775.gif GONZ9729CustomImage1539775.gif