Goodbye Jesus

Struggles With Belief And Family Problems

srtamas

So, I realized in 8th grade that I was not a Christian, by my church's and family's standards, and that I didn't want to be. The problem is that I continued to fake it for the sake of keeping my family off my back (they are born-again Southern Baptist Christians). In so doing, I continually defended Christianity and my parents' political beliefs that were based off of it. Basically I knew that I was faking but 7 years of faking something really well makes it really wear on you. I haven't come out to my family yet, as I am a college student and the job I have working for my dad is the only way I can afford school, but I fear that I will not be able to intellectually separate myself from all the things I "believed" for the past 7 years. Over the years I have realized that the reason I did not want to be a Christian was because I did not want to cede control of myself to anyone, not because I no longer believed. So I am stuck in this place of not wanting to believe but not being sure that I don't still. It has affected me tremendously, in that I often fall into pits of feeling like I have no purpose, for a few weeks at a time, realizing that I don't truly want anything and that I no longer have something that I can strive for (even if I was faking it all along). I wonder how, if God is love, that I could love anyone, my boyfriend, my best friend, myself, the world. I haven't been able to easily set aside the beliefs just because I rejected the church.