Goodbye Jesus

12 Step Program, Cult, Religion Or Program

Guest r3alchild

Guest r3alchild

I have had some experience with the 12 steppers and I was thinking about a few things. Is the 12 step a cult is it a religion or is it a program as they say. Now for arguments sake we say its not a program, does the court system have the right to send offenders into a religion or possibly a cult.

Your thoughts.

All of the 12 step programs I've seen friends go through have had a "higher power" that forms the basis. One guy had Allah as his god, most of the others had Jesus or came to Jesus after trying to lose weight via the 12 step approach (and a Christian sponsor who used the position to proselytize). The courts and jail system don't have any problem at all with Christianity. The word Penitentiary comes from the word "penitent" or sorry for one's sins, and was based on the work of Christianity to make prisons more humane and geared away from punishment and towards change. Bibles are commonplace in jails, if you want one. 

12 step programs say that they don't care what your "higher power" is, but many believers actively use the groups as a mission field. That said, the steps do work for some people. Others don't experience any change at all. Of course, the higher power is only their own selves, but that doesn't sell well for some reason.

Addicts replace their addiction to booze or pills with addiction to Jesus. How is that healthy? 

• Like 1

Addicts replace their addiction to booze or pills with addiction to Jesus. How is that healthy? 

Jesus doesn't ruin your liver. (And the way he ruins your brain is less destructive than the way some drugs do.)