Goodbye Jesus

Oh Dear. I'm Confused By Satan.

Guest copacetic

Guest copacetic

Due to the fact that I am relatively new to fundamentalist christianity I am continually shocked and awed at the power that it holds over people.

My buddy, recently converted, didn't believe me yesterday when I told him that the gospels contain a couple of contradictions. He asked me to show him a couple of them - So I found a list and printed them for him as well as a couple of reasons why christianity does not work for me. This afternoon he gives me a letter basically telling me that my mind has been overtaken by satan who is trying to confuse me. How does he know this? He prayed and god told him.

*sigh*

Is that really the best that they can do? A few unanswerable questions and it's satan taking over my mind? Not to mention the fact that there would be no benefit for mr satan to confuse me about christianity because without god there's no devil...

If I weren't laughing I'd be crying.

Hello, and welcome!

That is, sadly, a very typical response of fundies (fundamentalist Christians). They often do not wish to accept that some people have left and that their religion may not be everything they thought it was, so they stick their heads in the sand and pretend otherwise.

Is that really the best that they can do? A few unanswerable questions and it's satan taking over my mind?

Unfortunately, yes. Satan is the "easy out" card. Christianity is a feeble religion that's flawed from the foundation up and any amount of rational thought will destroy it. The only answers the apologetics can give is:

"You have to have faith"

"Satan is tricking you."

"We cannot understand God's will."

Boring and dissapointing, I know. Welcome to ExC!

Satan gets the bad rap on everything. If he's so bad, why did God create him?