Goodbye Jesus

Loser With A Liberal Arts Degree

LosingMyReligion

This spring is my final semester in college. All I need is a P.E. class. I'm glad because I am sick and tired of school...

However, my degree is in English(with a minor in Creative writing). I don't want to be a teacher so I'm pretty much screwed.

The only reason I went to college is because they offered an English degree. English is the only subject that I love, and I write poetry and short stories. However, there is nothing in I can do with this degree and I'm scared.

Plus, I owe around 4,000 dollars in student loans. So I'll probably have to live at home for another year before I pay it off...

Sometimes I think college was a waste of time. Some of my friends are highschool drop outs and have thriving careers already. :scratch:

Well, atleast it will look good on my resume. :shrug:

I just needed to rant. Any advice would be helpful though.

Is there can way you can use your writing abilities in career -- like journalism? It's not poetry or short stories, but it can be the work that supports your art.

I was thinking of that. But it is hard trying to make it as a freelance writer nowadays.

I'd love to get a job as newspaper columnists or something. I once worked as an editor of a newspaper...I liked it too...

hmmm, maybe....

What about technical writing? Yeah, I know it's not creative, but it might pay the bills until you can find something you like better. Also, what about the advertising industry? There are a lot of advertising/public relations jobs where writing is a focus.

Also, I got a degree in marketing but could not find a job in the field because I hate doing sales. However, I've found a lot of jobs doing administrative support. So you don't necessarily need to get a job in your degree field either. And keep in mind that lots of companies value people with good communications skills. Writing is a valuable skill to have.