Goodbye Jesus

Al-anon

Bael

I have been attending Al-Anon for about two months. At first I really enjoyed the feeling that I wasn't alone in the world. Other people have struggles just like me. Yet a theme seem to pop up over and over that reminded me too much of Christianity. This was "Sponsorship" This means what "Discipleship" means in religious circles. A person "sponsors" another person by telling them what they should do about their problems. A person approached me a few weeks ago, "I sponsor three people!" He then followed up his remark by saying, "Yet two of the guys are flakes!" It seemed to me that I was being told that I should want a sponsor. I should go to someone who was experienced in the program and ask them to sponsor me. WTF would I want to do that for? For one who in Al-Anon is really qualified to tell other people what to do with their lives? I got plenty of that in Christianity. I actually know people who were told to quit their college education so they could devote more time to serving the Lord. Today these same people are in their middle age and have no career. I made it clear that I felt that I didn't need a sponsor. This may have had something to do with the fact that I was interrupted during a sharing time last week. "What does that have to do with Al-Anon?" was what got barked at me. Then the bastard took over the sharing time and preached a mini sermon about his testimony in Al-Anon. So now this is my take on the situation. People get together to be a support for one-another. They adhere to ideals that will help them find their way through life. Yet as human beings are they get off on the power they feel by controlling other peoples lives. They feel threatened when others don't recognize their perceived status in the group and they start to single them out, publicly ridicule them in hopes that they will either conform or leave. Fuck You asshole!!!!