Goodbye Jesus

Reading The Bible Began It All..

Guest dexys midnight runner

Hello everyone..I've been reading this site for 6 months now and just now feel the courage to tell my story. I was raised in a typical southern baptist home in Oklahoma and was officially "saved" at the age of 10 and went up in front of the church. I was also "saved" a few more times privately when I felt I had "fallen away", especially at falls creek, a baptist youth camp. I met my wife in college and married right before I graduated. During my college years, I started to doubt a lot about Christanity, especially the concept of hell and original sin. But I always managed to suppress them. My wife's dad and grandpa were deacons in her church she grew up in so I felt obliged to join it when we were married. We were active in the church and brought our kids as well. We also became leaders in sunday school. At the end of 2005, the men in the sunday school class suggested we read the bible in a year in 2006. I was excited to strengthen my walk and actually know god's word. I never thought I would be typing this almost a year later. Out of 40 men, I am the only one to have stayed on the reading plan to this day. My faith is pretty much gone and it is difficult for me to write this out tonight.