Goodbye Jesus

Hey There-new Member Here

Guest Holden Caufield

Guest Holden Caufield

What a great site! I walked away from Xianity about a year ago. I am a 30-something attorney with a wife a 4 kids. Raised in a moderate mainline church, I became a Southern Baptist :eek: after marraige, mainly because that was my wife's denomination. We left the Baptist church due to its fundamentalist leanings and infighting (biblical innerancy and homosexual issues mostly) and moved back to a mainline denomination that seemed pretty moderate ("open hearts, open minds, open doors"). I went from liberal christian to agnostic to aetheist over about 6 months. My wife was floored, even though she is pretty liberal herself, although still a Christian. She refuses to beleive I am an aetheist, and instead accepts me only as agnostic. Nonetheless, she has been a pretty good sport about it. I have not yet told any of my kids about my deconversion, as they are all under 12. I also still have not figured that whole church thing out yet. My wife has left attendence optional for me, but I feel like I need to be there to some degree or another. I am curious if there is anyone on this board who has left Christianity but whose spouse remains actively religious? How do you handle the church issue, especially if you have kids?

Thanks for your input. This really is a great board and I look forward to contributing to it.

Hey Holden,

Welcome.

As for the church issue I would attend church with my son and we would talk about the sermon on the way home. A lot of the time what the minister said went over his head. I'd give him both the christian version but ask questions that would make him think for himself and decide for himself. I never told him what I believed, I just don't believe in passing my beliefs onto my son. I want him to use his brain to think and reason.