Goodbye Jesus

Breaking The Brainwashing

Guest Anointed Heathen

Guest Anointed Heathen

I thought it would only be appropriate for my first post on this site to be my story as to how I became an ex-Christian, so here goes.

I grew up in a semi-religious home. When I was a child I didn't attend church too often, mainly just on holidays and whenever my parents felt like dragging me along. Around age 9 my parents moved to where I'm currently living. This is the area in which they were raised and attended church their whole lives, so naturally this is where I would start attending church as well. While I had quite a bit of fun at the youth rallies, etc. there were always questions that I had that went unanswered. Instead of becoming educated about the ways of spirituality, I was told not to question God. So there I stayed, brainwashed, ignorant and content in my faith.

When I was a sophomore in high school I overheard a debate going on with some fellow classmates. A few were Baptist (which I had grown up to be) and a few were Methodist. They were debating on the issue of "once saved, always saved". The more I thought about that philosophy the less sense it made to me. I didn't see how it was possible to ask forgiveness as a 10 year old, murder someone at 20, die at 30 without repentance and still be given an eternal reward. So I then started attending the local Methodist church. Not long afterward I just stopped going completely.

One day I was sitting at home after school and a friend of mine stopped by. He was on his way to church and invited me to go along with him. I had nothing better to do, so I agreed. It was a night I will never forget.