Goodbye Jesus

Purity Before The Lord And Submission To God

Brother Jeff

I wrote the following religious bullshit study several months ago during what was hopefully my last bipolar-induced trip into fundie fantasy land. I was serious about it then, but I find it very amusing to read now. I thought it was worth sharing because of the humor factor, if nothing else. It goes to show how fucked up my "thinking" was back then, and how fucked up and ridiculous religion is generally, I think. Anyway, here it is:

The Lord led me to read the book of Zephaniah today, and as I studied it I thought about how we need to purify ourselves before the Lord and get false gods and idols out of our lives.

"I will stretch out My hand against Judah,

And against all the inhabitants of Jerusalem.

I will cut off every trace of Baal from this place,

The names of the idolatrous priests with the pagan priests—

Those who worship the host of heaven on the housetops;

Those who worship and swear oaths by the LORD,

But who also swear by Milcom;

Those who have turned back from following the LORD,

And have not sought the LORD, nor inquired of Him." (Zeph. 1:4-6)

Practicing astrology and the worship of Baal were constant problems for Israel. These practices angered the Lord, and He said that He would "cut off every trace of Baal from this place". Idolatry angers the LORD! He alone is GOD, and He alone is worthy of worship! I encourage us all to search our hearts and surrender anything that is not of HIM to the Lord and get it out of our lives!

"But who also swear by Milcom (either an Ammonite deity or Molech, according to the MacArthur Study Bible)"